Friday, September 4

Content lil' Baby...

I am pleased to announce that I have a very content little one... I guess. ;-P Baby likes it in there (perhaps the coziness of being all scrunched up?!?), and wants to stay awhile.

I have to admit that I'm surprised, my midwife said that she was shocked, too! Baby dropped a bit over 4 weeks ago, and my midwife says she rarely sees a baby continue with his/her head so firmly engaged for this long. Lovely. People ask "are you having strong contractions yet?". :-) I've been having *strong* ones since June. :-P As in, wake me up strong. :-) Oh well. When she did the exam yesterday, I was 0.5 cent. dilated. She had me promise not to be discouraged, and reminded me that some women take weeks to fully dilate, and then with some it just happens suddenly! I guess we'll see what camp I'm in. :-) Baby is quite happy in there, and we both checked out very healthy, so I'm happy. :-) And grateful that my midwife doesn't let her patients go past 42 weeks... ho hum!

We are still hoping that baby is born before my mom arrives in town (she was planning to take baby with her to her favorite shopping establishments), but we shall see! Mom says that they are either inducing baby before she leaves, or she is buying a new ticket - she's not leaving without meeting Baby! :-) She & Dad bought us a stroller for this little one (helps with those outdoor malls she is gonna be visiting) which is scheduled to arrive today. We found it for a really good price (comparatively) and love how it is an "umbrella" style, yet fully reclines for an infant. (Trying really hard to not clutter up the apt.!) We also found a pediatrician/ ped. group that is wonderful. Totally supportive of certain decisions Dwight and I have made regarding baby. Yippee! But poor Kate is a bit disappointed about baby's lack of early arrival. She has been visiting this week, and it looks like "Auntie Kate" will have to wait until Thanksgiving to be properly introduced...

Y'all, I know this is pathetic... but I really don't want to have this baby on Labor Day...

Friday, August 21

Weepiness :-P

Is it just me, or did anyone else out there go through a weepy phase as labor approached? Or even throughout their pregnancy? It is funny and pathetic, I can just start crying over nothing (well, okay, I feel a tad stupid so I bottle it up, and then it becomes more like a l-o-n-g *sob on poor Dwight* session), am ultra sensitive, and feel completely overwhelmed about the prospect of caring for our little cute baby. :-) And the birth... well, that is another thing all together, even though I realize that women have been giving birth since the beginning of creation! So I know it is silly... but did anyone else out there turn into a geyser? I need to fill my mind with more of God's Word; my self-thoughts are so crazily unpredictable!

Wednesday, August 19

Lil' Wiggleworm

Today marks 37 weeks and our little baby is happy, healthy, and wiggly (though the wiggles are slightly impaired due to a fully engaged head). :-) We are so grateful, God has blessed us far beyond what we deserve, and we treasure this little one so much and pray that he/she will grow to love the Lord with all their heart and live for Him their whole life!

I wondered if I had dropped 2 weeks ago, because one day my pants didn't fit right and certain tops did! (My ribcage had expanded a little under 3 inches, thankfully it went back to normal!) So maybe it happened then, we just know baby has dropped sometime recently. I still can't tell by looking at myself, but my nurse and my midwife could tell (2 weeks ago, she was out of town, so I saw the OB). So, I'm happy and uncomfortable, all rolled up into one waddling gal. :-) I sleep best on the floor (I'm weird), but Dwight has been so sweet - we just spread out the sleeping bag and camp out in the living room! It is just hard to believe the due date is only 3 weeks away.

It has been fun getting ready - baby's bed and layette are all ready to go! (We do need to move the carseat from the living room into the car, though.) It is so nice to see the little stacks of clean clothes and diapers. I like to go through them over, and over, and over. :-) Friends have been so generous to us, and God has been so faithful in providing. The ARC thrift store here has clothing half-off on Saturdays, and when Dwight took me this past weekend, they had all kids clothes for $0.99. I like that! And then there is another children's resale shop (Children's Orchard), that offers you $5 credit just for signing up for their mailing list. So, after doing that :-), I went to check them out. I found some really cute things... though it will be fun to finally find out our baby's gender, so that I can get some actual boy/girl clothes! They had a like new Hanna Anderson (a store in Oak Brook that I would drool over) one-piece for $2. I snatched that one up! It is so soft and pretty. It looks like you get $5 for referring someone (and then they would get $5 for signing up), so I've already warned my sister and mom as to what to expect when they come visit. I'm so cheap.

One thing about being pregnant is you feel like a walking apothecary (when I remember to take the vitamins- which is most days). Between prenatals, the Omega-3/ DHA (Love the Expecta, it is made with no fishy whatsoever! Very exciting.), the Emergen-C, the occasional papaya enzyme, Mama's 3rd trimester tea, and now primrose oil, it is like "eeks!" I guess it all depends on what you are used to, and this is unusual for me. :-) And my ginger compress mixture (for labor) is now cooling. I'm supposed to bring it with a crock-pot to the hospital when I'm in labor. Have to admit, a *crock-pot* wasn't exactly on my list to bring prior to my appointment this morning! ;-D I guess the hospitals being so friendly towards typically home-birth things is a perk for living in a "crunchy-granola type" town.

You Mama's out there, wanna be Mama's, older sisters, faithful babysitters, etc.... what is your essential baby item, especially for the first month or so?

Wednesday, July 29

oops. A blonde moment in my life.

This past week I discovered something new. :-)

My fuel tank was getting to be past half empty, so on Monday I went to refill it (now please, keep in mind this is only the 2nd time since becoming a Mrs. that I have refilled my little Jeep's fuel, Dwight did it the other times it was low). So anyways, I went inside to pay cash at the register (note to self... try and remember to check which number you parked at... makes it easier should a pole be blocking the view to where your car is located) and then went back out to commence the filling. I took the nozzle off of the stand, punched the button for regular and then tried to put the small nozzle end into my car. It didn't fit. Seriously, I thought my car was broken. I tried to jam the nozzle in, and that didn't work either (thankfully). So there I was, looking at my car and looking at the nozzle. I began to try and remember if maybe the nozzle didn't actually go into the car. Perhaps you just filled the area with fuel and it dripped down??? Nah... that just didn't *seem* right.

Then I realized (um, after a minute or two, gulp) that I had grabbed the nozzle for diesel. My Jeep doesn't use diesel. Sheepishly I switched nozzles, put the correct one right in, fueled my car up, and went home, happy to realize that maybe my car was normal after all. :-)

I was so happy to learn that they make the nozzle larger for diesel! Could you imagine??? If they came the same size, I know I would have filled my poor Jeep up with that concoction. And that wouldn't have been good....

So, here's to reading the signs! ;-P

Tuesday, July 28

I love my Dwight. :-)

He is sweet to me in countless ways! I am thrilled that I am able to be his wife, and little wiggleworm will have him for his/her daddy. He is amazing, and more than perfect for me. God has surely heaped blessings on me through him! :-)

Yesterday he was so thoughtful, from the message on the chalkboard (that I didn't even see for 10+ hours, and it is above our kitchen sink...poor guy!), to the yummy cake he made for me, the hugs, and fun gifts. :-) Thank you honey!


It was a fun day. :-) I dressed up in my green dress and put on my green sandal/heels, and went to the mall to browse, and namely to see if the dept. stores had samples of some of the perfumes I like available to take home. :-) I admit it, I love *free stuff*. :-) Did some grocery shopping, too.

Did you know that you can get free food to celebrate your birthday, just by signing up for the restaurant's email list? I had lunch for free per Noodles & Company and Coldstones. :-) Yumminess. Tomorrow I'm going to go to Maggie Moo's and I don't know when I'll go to Baskin Robbins. Yeah, you could say I like ice cream. :-)

Drive Through History... these are really great to watch. I especially enjoy the parts about Turkey. :-) (Hehe... I had bought the same ones just last month for his birthday in Nov. Definitely something we both enjoy. :-D)


A beautiful vintage silver bracelet with a B monogram. I think it is so pretty. :-)

Friday, July 17

How deep the Father's love for us
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
And make a wretch His treasure
How great the pain of searing loss
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the Chosen One
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the man upon the cross
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers
It was my sin that held Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection
Why should I gain from His reward
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

Why should I gain from His reward
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

Written by Stuart Townsend



Friday, July 10

Ants in the Kitchen - gasp!

I loathe bugs. Doesn't matter what size or kind. I dislike pretty much all of them. That is why I am thoroughly disgusted to find them crawling *all* over my kitchen floor. The "Consider the Ant" song is not exactly what first came to mind. Yuck. Double yuck. I've been using the soft scrub on them (hehe...), and just washed the floor last night, but I'm gonna go clean it again. Now. And maybe several times today. ("Dear Ants.... I'll show you!!") Let's see if a vinegar/ lemon/ baking soda mixture will help...

Cheerio!